Cooking with the Boy

Goodness, it’s been awhile since I’ve posted.  The whole month of September was so busy for me, I didn’t have much time to knit.  October should be better.

I really want to share with you what I’ve been up to, though it’s not exactly crafty, it does go along with my passion of making things.  The Boy’s mom has been in Taiwan for the last 2 weeks and before she left, she put us in charge of her garden. It’s been a blast taking care of it with the Boy but we definitely needed to use the produce.

imageSo we’ve been trying to cook, despite the fact neither of us cooks much at home.  Our parents usually cook for us.  It was nice to know we could go to my house to eat if our cooking failed.  Haha.

Anyway, on Saturday, since we had a ton of tomatoes, we decided to make tomato sauce with noodles.  The Boy cut up a big tomato and maybe 7 small ones.  Then he added a bit of wine, because that’s what some of the recipes called for.  He just eyeballed it.

imageSince it would take awhile for it to turn to mush, he played his game while I read my book and checked on it.  The smell of wine was really strong and I was a bit worried that it would taste too much like alcohol.

After about 30 mins, it boiled down a bit, so we added salt and pepper and chopped up some sausages and threw it in.  We decided it looked too watery so he squirted in some ketchup.
image

Honestly, we probably didn’t need all that ketchup.  It helped with the consistency, though.  But it tasted really good.  And it was fun cooking with the Boy.  I can’t wait until the next time we cook.
image

Stinkey just loves chilling with us.

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cooking with the Boy

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    Too funny! I’m so glad you’re enjoying fresh produce, but squirting the ketchup is going to keep me giggling all week! Actually, that’s a good thing, so thank you!

Leave a Reply

