A Handspun Scarf

It seems like I’ve been blogging once every three days.  Yay!  At least it’s somewhat steady, right?

About a year ago I started to become fascinated with spinning.  I made some of my own spindles and bought a pound of BFL and two ounces of Corriedale.  Some of that BFL became:

And then:

This is the first thing I have ever made using handspun, let alone my handspun.  Yes, it is quite thin in some areas, but I still love it!  I took the stitch pattern from a sock, Karate (Ravelry link).

I actually made a boo-boo in one of the cable-crossings and I only found out when I was completely done and blocking, but it’s not too noticeable.  I love it!  I didn’t think I would have enough yarn, and before I blocked it, it was a pitiful yard or so, but after blocking, it stretched out to 50″.

Yarn: My handspun (less than 200 yards of 12WPI yarn)
Needles: Size 5

I spun the yarn on a YorkieSlave spindle.  I love her beautiful designs on her spindles and they spin wonderfully, too!

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Finished Objects, Knitting, Spinning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Handspun Scarf

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    I’ve never handspun but hope to one day. Also would like to do my own dying. Your project makes me yearn even more to give it a try. I think this turned out quite well.

  2. jenleung09 says:

    Thanks for sharing this with us! Lovely! =)

Leave a Reply

