Knitting my first (wool) sock

I absolutely love the cobalt blue and the white together.  It’s a nice contrast, but…

…my gauge is off.  Very, very off.  It’s supposed to be 32 spi and I’m getting 36 spi on size 1 needles.  I don’t think I knit that tightly, but I guess I do.  The pattern is Wanderer and it was the most confusing thing EVER to start.  After you start off, you knit two rows and then two rounds.  Logically speaking, the front should pucker because there are more rows in the front than the back, but because mosaic knitting gauge is different from normal stockinette, it doesn’t.  It took me a while to figure that out.

If the blue yarn looks familiar, it’s because you’ve seen it before.  As suggested by Snowcatcher, I decided to use it for socks, and to stretch the yardage a bit, I picked a sock with colorwork.  Of course, I’ll have to frog and try a new needle.  Once I’m done with my lacy mitts (I should be done tonight!) I’ll try the socks again.

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Yarn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Knitting my first (wool) sock

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    Oh, I can’t wait to see how these turn out! I LOVE the color combination! Even if you are knitting tight, look how consistent your gage is!!!

Leave a Reply

