End-Of-The-Year Gifts

In my fellowship group, we had a party yesterday and I made (with a lot of help) the gifts for the graduated seniors and the core members (aka leaders).  I finished them by Thursday and I wanted to post about them, but I figured it was better to keep quiet about it just in case.  At any rate, they seemed to go over well.

So, for core (the leaders), since they were stepping down from their position, I made them message boards!  I found some 12″x12″ cork boards at JoAnn’s and wrapped fabric around the boards, then glued the ribbons to the back and where they intersected, then glued buttons on top of the intersections.  A friend cut 12″x12″ foam boards which I glued to the cork board so you couldn’t see the messiness of the back and because the cork boards were not that thick, so if they wanted to put pins in them, they wouldn’t poke the wall.

The color of the boards look more impressive in person, though.  The point of the ribbons is so they don’t have to use pins if they don’t want to; they can just slip papers behind the ribbons.  We also wrote some encouragement notes to them and slipped them into the ribbons.  The blue and red ones look quite manly, don’t they?

For the senior gifts, I wanted to go quite inexpensive.  We had a lot of extra T-shirts from a few years ago, so I took all of them, found the XLs and cut them up.  A friend machine-sewed most of it, leaving an opening so we could stuff, a couple of kids helped me stuff some of them, and I hand-sewed the opening that was left.

At first, I was going to use the women’s XL, which is the picture above, but then I realized there were men’s XL, so that’s what I used instead.  I hate stuffing because it always looks so lumpy, but the resulting pillows are very soft and comfy.  (The pillow in the picture is not lumpy because I sewed only 3 sides, put the stuffing in as one piece, then sewed the last side.)  They’re as big as a regular bed pillow, but not very firm.  I wish I took a picture of all seven; they were taking up a lot of room, but I forgot to.  They were quite impressive.  We made all the seniors line up and turn around, and then we each got a pillow and walloped them with it.  Haha.  Pillow fight!  (Not!)

The next few weeks are going to be crazy busy, but I will try to update the blog at least once a week.  My package is coming on Monday (hopefully) and I can’t wait till it gets here!

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Finished Objects, Miscellaneous Crafts, Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to End-Of-The-Year Gifts

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    I wish you’d snapped a photo of the pillow fight! The whole event sounds packed with great ideas. You’ve got me curious about your package…

Leave a Reply

