Cold: Part II

Actually, it should be part III, since I posted about nice cabled sweaters awhile ago too, but here we go again.  This is mostly filler for what I really really want to post, but since I’m not done yet…  I refuse to post about it until I’m done.  (But it’s so close to being done!!!  ARGH!)

Last night I was poring over my Interweave Knits mags and trying to decide (yet again) what sweater I wanted.  Man, I am picky.

The Buttercream Jacket (Ravelry link) is very cozy looking, but I’m afraid the V-neck is quite low on me.  And I’m not sure how I could raise it because of the way the collar is knitted.

Beach House Pullover (Ravelry link) is awesome, but I don’t want to cable every other row.  Too many cables for me.  (I’m like Goldilocks.)

The Williamsburg Cardigan (Ravelry link)  has that same deep V-neck (and part of the problem with this picture is the sweater is so over-sized that it’s lower than it needs to be), but it is more easily remedied than the Buttercream Jacket.  The smallest size is 39 3/4″.  A little too big for me.

Ah, the Hawthorn Pullover (Ravelry link).  It wasn’t my first choice because of the high boatneck, but it’s grown on me.  Especially since I realized I could easily convert it to a scoop-neck.  I think this is the one I will knit, with some modifications, of course.

Now to pick my yarn… (oh dear, that’s going to be another story for another day!)  I think I’d better get back to finishing that project before I lose myself in decisions again.

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Ideas, Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cold: Part II

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    That last one is growing on me, too, but I think you could fix the collar on the first one by just adding one more button, a little higher up. You should have an uneven number of buttons anyway, right? 🙂

    It’s always fun to think about what will be on the needles next, especially when working on complex and long things like you do!

    • yulianknits says:

      The thing is, the top part of the collar is knitted in 3 parts. And then you have the buttonband, which makes the whole thing 5 parts. 5! I don’t even wanna begin messing with that yet. Maybe it’ll be a future project. Maybe.

      Yes, it’s always fun to dream about what’s next! I would love to see a sweater made of sock-yarn leftovers.

Leave a Reply

