FO: Paige Sweetheart Top

I’ve been waiting and waiting to show you this FO.  Partly because I finished it in record time (come on, a sweater in less than 2 weeks, not including swatching?  That is crazy fast for me) and partly because I love this sweater.  I wish I could steal it, but it’s not my size.

From this:

10 skeins of Comfy Sport that I bought Melissa for Christmas (?) last year, with the intention that she would make the sweater herself (which she obviously didn’t).

To this:

Clearly, it does not fit me.  There are 2 more buttons down there.  It’s more like a tunic than a sweater and it makes me look fat, but it is cute.  Well, it is a size large.  But it makes me happy.  The pearl buttons add just the right touch.  Would I make it again?  Maybe.  But probably in fingering weight yarn, because, for the life of me, I could not get the square to the right size!  These motifs are 6 1/2″, maybe even 7″ with stretching.  I’m crossing my fingers that it will fit Melissa.

Pattern: Paige Sweetheart Top (Ravelry link)
Hook: Size F
Yarn: 7 1/2 skeins of Comfy Sport in Peony
Mods: Used a larger motif with the S/M schematic to make a L/XL.  Crocheted 8 buttonholes and used 3/8″ buttons.  Made the buttonholes larger by ch 2 instead of 1 (probably a mistake, but one that I always seem to make).

Blocking definitely worked wonders on making the motifs lie flatter.  Definitely a must for this pattern to block.

Now I have 3 1/2 skeins left over.  Gotta think of something else to use the yarn with…  Maybe fingerless gloves to match?

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Crocheting, Finished Objects, Yarn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to FO: Paige Sweetheart Top

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    Lovely. I would so wear something like that! I think you’ve planted a burr beneath my crochet hook!

  2. Defiantly must block crochet. This sweater would fit ME. Love the pink too!

Leave a Reply

