Package!!!

I’ve been on Ravelry group called “Will Work for Yarn Swap Group” for a while now, mostly watching the topics and seeing how things go, when I finally decided to take the plunge and knit two sweaters for someone in exchange for some yarn.

3 days later, I got the package from Sweetm (Ravelry link since she doesn’t seem to have a blog).

13 skeins of Rowan Spray to knit Tess (Ravelry link) and about 9 skeins of Cotton Angora to knit Emmaline.  I didn’t include all the skeins, but there is one skein of each on the top.  The pattern for Tess is in the book (which I love!  The designs in there are all so beautiful, though probably not stuff I would make for myself).  On the bottom there are 2 skeins of ShibuiKnits Sock yarn, which I don’t know what I’ll do with yet, which was the agreed upon trade for now.  There’s more coming when I’m done with the sweaters.  And, a skein of Shimmer Bayou!  She threw it in as an extra thank you.  Isn’t that sweet?  Plus a couple of buttons for Tess.

So, I got the package yesterday and I actually cast on later that night, too.  Luckily I got gauge on my size 15s so I didn’t have to go out and buy new needles.

I can’t wind the yarn on my ballwinder because it’s too thick, so I’ve been trying to make cakes with a nostepinne.  Err, my size P crochet hook.  You can see attempts 1-3 (in order, 1 on the left, 2 in the middle…) on the bottom of the picture.  The 3rd one came out pretty well.  It definitely takes a lot more time and I’d only do this for bulky yarn that doesn’t fit on my ballwinder, but at least I can do it now.

Tess goes fast.  I’m already a lot further on the sleeve than in the picture.

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Swaps, Yarn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Package!!!

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    That sounds like fun. Didn’t even know such a group exists. If I didn’t already have my hands full…
    🙂

Leave a Reply

