Why a bunch of beads looks pretty but is essentially unuseful (at least for me)

I love beads.  They add an extra bit of glamor to a knitted piece.  I must admit to adding beads to a few projects of mine, and they look gorgeous.  (I gave two of them away.)  I love the way it looks, the glittery effect it gives when the light hits it just so…

But they are way too glamorous for the always-dressed-like-a-teen-with-jeans-and-a-t-shirt me.  Don’t get me wrong, I wear my lace shawls around campus like a weirdo.  I don’t dress that casually all the time, but most of the time I do.

Plus, I wear my shawls for warmth.  Beads are, unfortunately, cold.

At any rate, I present to you… the beaded Swallowtail Shawl.  Big, beautiful, and COLD to wear.  I’ve actually never worn it out, because I feel so darn self-conscious.

Perhaps I’ll give it away one of these days.  I do like it, but I won’t wear it and I want it to be used.

Pattern: Swallowtail Shawl
Yarn: DMC Crochet Cotton
Needle: Size 6, 8
Beads: Size 6/0

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Finished Objects, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why a bunch of beads looks pretty but is essentially unuseful (at least for me)

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    I can only imagine how much time went into this. It’s stunning. I’d find a reason to wear it! And a place!!!

  2. It’s gorgeous!! For a more casual shawl with beads … just put fewer in. Like along the bottom boarder. Or just on the neck area. Just enough so you know they’re there and someone will spot a sparkle now & then.

    Your pretty close on your guess for my cast-ons in one night. 2 scarves and a little handbag. 2 crochet & one knit. Of course that doesn’t count what I have on the needles already. It’s a sickness!

  3. Pingback: "The Wedding Shawl": A new drama series Part One: Picking the Pattern | That Crafty Cara

Leave a Reply

