Swatching

Snowcatcher has requested that I try to have more WIP pictures up, so here we go.

After all that Christmas and WWFY knitting, I desperately need my own knits.  Is it irresponsible to go and do something else when not quite finished with Christmas projects or WWFY demands?  Yes.  But this project has been calling me ever since I bought the yarn and it will not be denied!  Haha.

10 skeins of Merino Style in Silver, plus my itty-bitty swatch of the cable pattern.  I screwed up, so I gave up.  Frankly, I really needed to try to knit it in the proper yarn, anyway.  So I started swatching away on my size 5s, since that is what the label says I should use, but the knit felt… too dense, I think.  Plus, the cable pattern was coming up too thick for my tastes as well.  So I stopped to soak and block it.  Top is before being washed, the bottom is of it still wet.

The cable pattern still feels too thick, but I do have hopes for the stockinette to feel less dense, especially after the conditioner.  Now to go work on a non-selfish project while waiting for this swatch to dry.

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Designing, Knitting, WIPs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Swatching

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    I’ve never been one to adhere to the One-Project-At-A-Time rule. I think variety is the spice of needles. I actually love going back and forth between projects because it keeps me from getting bored with one!

    Can’t wait to see how this is going to evolve. Love the yarn!

  2. Snowcatcher says:

    Oh, and as long as you’re taking requests, I’d love to see some of your snowflake earings…

    • yulianknits says:

      Yeah, I have about 5 projects on the needles currently, but only one of them is for me. =[ I actually doodled a 5-pointed snowflake before I saw your comment and am thinking about how to make it into an actual snowflake.

      I think I need to show off some paper flakes that I made with my kids a month ago, just for you. (I haven’t made any more snowflake earrings since last year… so you’re inspiring me to make more!)

Leave a Reply

