FO: Revontuli Shawl

Let’s review, shall we?  Once upon a time, I spun some yarn.

Gosh, this picture was from May last year, meaning I started spinning for this sucker over a year ago, judging by that large amount of singles.

Eventually I finished spinning the singles and plied them together.

I kind of miss this skein.  It didn’t feel all that soft, but it was really pretty, despite how bright it was.

About a week ago I CO out of desperation; I had no portable projects!  The horror!

Tuesday night, I ended up with this.  A crinkly mess of stockinette.

I suppose you can kind of tell that there are points.  Vaguely.  The striping is a bit more prominent now that it’s knitted up though.  Still, it doesn’t look very impressive and I was tempted to give it away after blocking, based on the texture and the way it looked.  Very… blah.

After blocking: A totally different piece.  I blocked it as hard as I could and you can see how airy it’s become.  I wanted very defined points and I got them.

The subtle striping is awesome.  I know the shawl looks blue-green in these pictures but the yarn color is closest to the very first picture of the singles.  It’s that bright, but the blocking has helped soften the colors because of how sheer it’s become.  I don’t want to give it away anymore!

I only had a few yards left over which is just perfect.  I wanted to use up as much yarn as possible and I accomplished it!

And that wraps up a project that began before this blog did!

Pattern: Revontuli (Rav link)
Needle: Size 7

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Dyeing, Fiber, Finished Objects, Knitting, Spinning, Yarn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to FO: Revontuli Shawl

  1. Missy says:

    oooh that turned out just beautiful. Love it.

  2. Julie-Ann says:

    Very beautiful, I love it!

  3. Snowcatcher says:

    The blocking totally changed the personality. But I still love the before color! It’s wonderful muted, too. And now it can be a lasting and visual symbol of your blog life! 🙂

Leave a Reply

