FO: Alcea

So, I knitted up an Alcea in about 11 days.  It’s gorgeous, but rather difficult with the long repeats and not knowing how the pattern flows.  I got it at the end, but by that time, the shawl was almost done!

You can see how small it is before blocking, and how desperately it wants to curl.

But it’s soo pretty!

The part I hate the most about these short-row shawlettes is blocking.  How do you block it?  It’s not a normal shape.  A circle, you can measure from the center, a triangle you can thread the wires through the edges and be done.  That said, I think I did a decent job this time, though it’s more scarf-like than shawl-like.  The points didn’t come out that well, but it definitely lengthened.

The Malabrigo was lovely, though it did start felting on the needles during the short-rows.   I’ve never had yarn felt that easily before.  It was a little strange.   Would I use it again?  Well, I bought one off a destash, so I guess that means… yes!

The colorway is Applewood and my friend Melissa chose it.  I’d totally use this colorway again, it is gorgeous and shows up very nicely.  In the future, perhaps…  I ended up with about 6g left over, so I wound it into a little skein (without ties) so that Melissa can cuddle and felt it to her heart’s desire.  (She really does cuddle the yarn…  She crochets very very little, but she CAN do it.)

Pattern: Alcea (Rav link)
Needle: Size 7 & 9
Yarn: Malabrigo Lace (Applewood)

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Finished Objects, Knitting, Yarn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to FO: Alcea

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    I see a ton of difference in the blocking, and even though it was difficult, you made it look stunning. Melissa has good color taste!

    • YuLianKnits says:

      Actually, the color is not her normal color, but I’m glad she chose it anyway. She loves blues and pinks, but somehow Applewood is just amazing. Thanks for your comments on my WIPs!

  2. Rebecca says:

    pretty 🙂 Her choice is nice but I brighter or darker color would be awesome as well. Btw I’ve been still doing your cowl pattern xDDD I hope my mom wears it on Mother’s day if you want to see it up close (and see my mistakes xP).

Leave a Reply

