A Yarny Predicament

So.  I have this problem.  It’s called yarn.

I’ve been swatching new ideas and I’ll eventually get to it, but I don’t know what I’ll use yet.  There’s one tentatively called “Fins” and although I’d like to use Blue Glass in Shimmer, I’ll probably go with Deep Waters in Shadow Tonal or Hush in Shimmer.  Jury’s still out on that, but I at least have an idea.  I know I need about 50g or so.

The problem is my crochet idea.  I have a skein of Cuarzo in Malabrigo Lace.  Judging by my Geoui shawl, 1 skein might be enough, BUT the new idea is a deeper triangle AND is lacier than the Geoui.  To further complicate things, Malabrigo Lace has 470 yds while Shimmer has 440 yds.  ARGH.

Looking at people’s projects, it looks like I have to get 2 skeins.  Not an entirely bad thing, but it just means this project is going to be on the backburner for a bit.  I guess I’ll have to use the Cuarzo for yet another idea.  =]

Well, that was entirely productive.  Who knew blogging could solve problems?  Now if only my homework was a blog post…

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Designing, Yarn and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Yarny Predicament

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    I cracked up at your last line!!!

    I received handspun angora from Europe a while back, and all I can do right now is look at it. There isn’t enough to make a big thing, but whatever I do, I want to be very special, so I just stare. And sometimes touch.

    Your shade of Malabrigo makes me very, very happy!

  2. Pingback: WIP Wednesday | YuLianKnits…

Leave a Reply

