WIP Wednesday

This is the crochet obsessed version, apparently.  Even the last two things I finished were crocheted.  (Obviously I haven’t caught up with my FO posts, so bear with me.  If you’re dying to know what I finished, I finished the Hanataba shawl on Monday, plus I made a hat that same day.)

This is for a CAL.  I modified the original by using laceweight and only doing 2 repeats.  I should work on this more.  It’s the Openwork Shawl.

My apologies for this slightly blurry picture.  I would usually try again but my camera’s running out of batteries and I need to recharge it, so no retakes.  The yarn was a gift from Melissa and I had a horrible time trying to find something that would work with both yarns.  I’ve frogged at least 10 times.  Anyway, I modified the original to use 2 colors and it’s coming out nicely.  If you look carefully, you can see where I stranded the yarn, but it’s not too noticeable.  The pattern is Beatrice Scarf (Rav link).

Of course, my life would not be complete if I was not designing something as well.  This is the yarn that was part of my dilemma not so long ago.  I found I am 3g short (!!!) so I’m hoping this makes a decent sized scarf.  As it is, I probably only have enough left for 3 or less iterations of the side motif, but it’s a mesh so it’s stretchy, right?  By the way, I need a name for this.  Right now, it’s just “Enmeshed Shawl.”  Help me name it, pretty please?  (Hm, I probably need a better picture of it if I want you to help name it, don’t I?)

So now I’m back to 5 projects and I haven’t really touched 2 of them.  (Guess what!  They’re both knit projects!  Ahhh!)  I think I need to go start a new (knit!) project to take around with me.

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Crocheting, Designing, WIPs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WIP Wednesday

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    Crochet obsession… Love it! Find myself there often, too, because it’s so easy to carry along. But also, on this continual push to build up snowflake patterns. I’ve got one I’ve been working on for a whole month now, the most complicated I’ve done so far, and I’m making my third version of it. I end up changing it just a tad each time, but all I initially wanted to do was test the pattern!!!

    I really love the colors in your enmeshed. Naming is always the hardest part for me. I’d be tempted to name it after the colors! Raspberry Basket or Grape Trellis! Beautiful stitching to go along with the rich tones!

    Really like the lace project, too. I’m itching to try same snowflake pattern mentioned above in laceweight, just to see how it looks…

  2. Rebecca says:

    I think I’m currently obsessed with your cowl pattern xP I keep making it lol.
    You really like to hook’em huh 😛 I have been too as of late because it’s difficult taking care of more than one needle.

    Hmm names for it…
    – Violet-net xD
    – plum-mesh

    That’s all I can think of (that are also cheesy as well xD)

Leave a Reply

