Giveaway: Bǎoshí

So, to celebrate my completion of my goal, there is an awesome giveaway.

To enter: Post a comment, preferably answering the question (see below).

The question: What do you do for fun besides knitting or crocheting?  Or anything fiber related?  I love to read, especially “young adult fantasy” but it has to be good stuff.  Yes I read Twilight, but no, I don’t like it.  Something like Inkheart or Faerie Wars is good.  And I love to draw.  Mostly anime style.

The prizes: Random generator picks the first prize.  A free copy of Bǎoshí plus:

A skein of Shimmer Lace, just like my Bǎoshí.  No, Knit Picks is not supporting me in any way, I just had leftovers.  Don’t worry, it’s a full skein, untouched.

Runner ups: Random generator picks one, and I pick one, the best comment/story.  They get a free copy of Bǎoshí.

So total, that’s 3 winners!  =]

The giveaway will be open until Friday, June 3rd, 2011, 10PM PDT.  Any comments after that will not be counted.

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Giveaway, Patterns and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Giveaway: Bǎoshí

  1. Diana Hirsch says:

    Besides knitting and crochet, my first love is reading, also. I used to be a fanatic for murder mysteries and science fiction. Now, it’s more romance mysteries (with ghosts or ESP, not vampires or werewolves, is okay) and lighter science fiction. But I do keep collecting knitting books (140 in the living room collection, I counted) and yarn (fills most of THE ROOM). Wouldn’t want to have withdrawal or anything. 😉

    Love the shawl!!!! You do such nice work. And I would love to win something.

  2. victanguera says:

    Besides knit, I dance Argentine tango (and often dj as well, so that involves putting together an evening of music to dance to), read, do some writing. Last fall, I also discovered spinning. That opened a whole new avenue of cool. Knitting with handspun yarn is one of the most exciting things ever.

  3. Dartfrog911 says:

    Not yarn related? Are you kidding?

    Actually, I like to read sci-fi, mysteries, and the occasional slutty romance novel. The cheesier, the better. I also like to ride my bike, play with the kiddo, eat anything chocolate, and look at everyone’s projects on Ravelry. I think the eating anything chocolate rivals eating anything with peanut butter. No wonder I’m as wide as I am tall. Luckily I’m also vertically challenged so it evens out.

  4. Watch sci fi movies and listen to music!

  5. Liana says:

    I love most anything fiber related but other than knitting, I spend a lot of time spinning, both on a drop spindle and my electric spinner. I love creating different yarns and I am amazed every time on the resulting yarn because sometimes you just can’t tell what the roving is going to turn into. My other love is mystery books as well as historical fiction. I listen to a lot of books on my mp3 player while I knit or spin and then in the evening I curl up with my eReader.

  6. Suzanne says:

    I enjoy reading sci fi and historical romances as well as spending time outside when I’m not knitting.

  7. lorraine says:

    this made me realize how much fiber rules my life..i have a hard time coming up with anything else i do 🙂 well lets see..i to sing and sew and do general artsy things like painting and such..thanks for the giveaway!!

  8. Kim says:

    For fun, I enjoy creating with needle(s) and … yarn, thread, beads, fabric, ribbon, or any combination thereof. My favorite has to be Crazy Quilting, but sewing and quilting are also high on the list.

    I also enjoy working out and the energy and imagination it creates. Most of my ideas for needleart “lightbulb” right after working out.

    Reading is my relaxation, mainly Historical Fiction – my High School history was a bit lacking, so I have learned my history through the pages of novels.

  9. Christina says:

    Besides knitting and crocheting, I enjoy reading although I don’t get to enjoy much of my own novels with three small kids. I have recently begun using a program Read Along With Me to make my kids’ favorite books into books on cd. It is really awesome with music, sound effects and page turn chimes and after you’ve got the hang of it, it is not that bad. They love it too. My oldest is even making her own for the little ones. I also like to write and am in the middle of a novel but that too doesn’t get as much attention as I would like.

  10. Knittingdancer on Ravelry says:

    Beside knitting, my next favorite hobby is working jigsaw puzzles. I like to read mysteries and knitting related books. I also have done a lot of counted cross stitch.

  11. granjudy says:

    Lovely shawl in a great color!
    I’m into all things crafty, but reading is #1 pastime -Science fiction, fantasy, classics, biographies & history. I feel deprived if I don’t read at least an hour in the evening. Favorite authors – Card, Norton, Tepper, McCullough, Lund… I like to ‘discover’ an author & read everything he or she wrote. I collect children’s picture books.
    DH found an old iron playground swing and installed it in our yard. Great exercise & takes me right back to childhood memories.
    Landscaping & planting flowers & shrubs on our lot.

  12. Rose says:

    I love knitting, crocheting, and coveting other people’s work on Ravelry. I also enjoy reading, cooking, and playing with my big chubbie puppy. Your shawl is lovely.

  13. Rebecca says:

    Hmm besides knitting and crocheting, I like to catch up my favorite tv shows, watch movies (in theaters and on netflix), and most of all hang out with friends 😀

  14. Rachel says:

    Hi! Just discovered your blog for the first time. You are a very talented designer!

    Reading is my first choice, but since I can’t yet read and knit at the same time, I’ve taken to watching shows on Hulu while I knit! Hurrah for multi-tasking, yes? 😀

  15. Delena says:

    Besides crocheting and occasionally knitting I make cards and dabble in making jewelry.
    Thanks for this opportunity to win such a nice giveaway. I have a yarn addiction!

  16. Jade says:

    Other than knitting and crocheting, I love to read too – mostly horror, sci-fi and fantasy.
    And when I’ve got a spare moment, I love watching films too, especially horror films 🙂

  17. Tasha Wells says:

    Hmm… how about shopping for yarn? Hehe. But really, I do love to go shopping with my ma and not just to purchase yarn. 😉 One of my other loves is being outdoors. I enjoy camping, gardening, riding my bike, or just sitting outside on the porch. About a month ago I started riding my bike to work (almost completely on a trail, no street) and I can’t begin to tell you how….. freeing it feels. It is awesome to ride through the woods and by the river. And say good morning to the wildlife, of course. 🙂

    Thanks for the giveaway and making me think of all of my favorite things!

  18. Lynn says:

    I read; I will read pretty much anything other than sci-fi and I usually have several books going at once. I used to have huge issues with quitting a book if I just wasn’t feeling it–if I started it, I had to finish it no matter how painful it was. This year has been the year of reading liberation—if the book is not enjoyable, I don’t finish it and my guilt level is decreasing slowly with each book I decide is not worth my time.

  19. Krystal says:

    Besides knitting and sewing, I also love to play the piano. I just came off a 10 year hiatus – I stopped playing when I moved out of my parents’ house, but last year when I bought my own house, I was able to move the piano in! I can’t properly express how amazing it feels to have that outlet back in my life 🙂

Leave a Reply

