A Little Dyeing

I hope you are having a lovely long weekend, for those in the U.S. celebrating Memorial Day.  I, on the other hand, am having to steal my weekend here and there.  I’m always so busy…

I was seized with the desire to dye my bare roving and I finally went for it.  I had originally planned on a nice pink, with some random splotches of red, but I ended up putting far too much dye/water and ended up with a lighter red semi-solid.

I still do like how it turned out.  It may end up even lighter, because I’m not sure all the dye penetrated through.  This was one packet of cherry for 100g of roving.

The roving reminds me a lot of the BFL I spun up last time.  It feels just like it, actually.  So… I may be getting more.  And dying it purple.  We shall see.  Unfortunately I slightly felted it, but it’s spin-able, still.  I think when I’m done spinning it, I’m going to add a ton of red, and a smidge of blue.

Red is a hard color to photograph.  I had to turn off the vibrant color on the camera AND edit the photos because it just ended up so saturated with red, red, RED.  But now the color is pretty true.  And look!  I remembered to move the posterboard so the light source isn’t behind me anymore!  Much better.

Stick around for tomorrow because I’ll be having another pattern release…  Don’t you just love new patterns?

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Dyeing, Fiber, Photography, Spinning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Little Dyeing

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    Oh, I think it’s lovely. I think the pink will be wonderful too, if you get a chance to do that one day. And purple… now that’s the ticket!

    I’m so envious you can spin your own.

Leave a Reply

