Yarn from a Destash

Just a reminder that if you haven’t entered the Honeycomb Twist Mitts giveaway, you still have a few hours to do so!

I recently purchased some yarn from a destash.  This wasn’t the first time, but this is probably the first time I got it just because I-WANT-IT-but-I-don’t-have-a-plan-yet.  I’ve been wanting this color since I first saw it, but then Knit Picks discontinued it and I didn’t get a chance to get it.

I love playing with the blur.  I wish that there was an easier way to transition between the layers and smooth it out (in Paint.net), but I think it looks pretty good, though you might be able to tell it’s been photoshopped.  The original is below.

It’s obviously less blurry.  I didn’t have to edit the colors this time.  (Yay!  The less editing, the better!)  I LOVE this color!  I can’t wait to knit/crochet with it.  I don’t usually say this about anything but it’s such a delicious color!  It’s just the perfect shade of pink.  So girly, yet somehow sophisticated.  By the way, this is Peppermint Heather in Alpaca Cloud.

I do have a vague plan.  I want to make a lightweight sweater so that I use it all up, but I’m not sure if I’ll design it myself or if I’ll buy a pattern instead.  I have a hankering to design my own, but then I’m totally loving Laar (Rav link).

See, if I design my own, I might re-do the final result in another yarn/color because this color is discontinued.  This is laceweight we’re talking about here!  Still that might not be a bad thing because laceweight sweaters would get much more love in Cali than bulky ones.  Oh, the possibilities…

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Photography, Yarn and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn from a Destash

  1. Diana Hirsch says:

    A chance to win the honeycomb mitts pattern! Wouldn’t miss it. Your patterns are clear and produce beautiful results. Good luck with a sweater, too. I hope it’s in the girly pink. It looks so yummy. And, yes, lace weight yarn is much more useful in sunny So Cal. (I have to admit, though, I like the speed of the thicker weights.)

  2. Rebecca L. says:

    Thicker sweaters were all the rage in the 80s, gotta bring that back yo lol xD I wish I could make a large garment xD. Btw I finished one mitt and it’s kinda big and I don’t know if I will do a second one…

Leave a Reply

