Hand-sewing

I hope you’re still enjoying your lovely July 4th weekend.  I happen not to be home at this moment; don’t you love pre-written posts?

You may have read me complain once or twice (or a million times) that I hate sewing, especially hand-sewing.  Well, that hasn’t changed, but I’ll do it as a favor to friends.  (Pardon the ugly photography; I didn’t have enough space or time to make it pretty.)

Previously, my friends had asked me to sew together two shirts for the first race, and I was able to machine sew it.  So they asked me to do it again.  This time, I wasn’t able to machine sew it because the material was too floppy to do so, so I did the only thing I could… hand-sew.

The red shirt looks fire bright, but it really isn’t quite that bright.

I had trouble figuring out where the middle was exactly, so I pinned out the shirt.  I even put it on to ask my brother if the back really was longer than the front.  (It was.)

The sewing took me several days.  You can see my tiny (and uneven) stitches here.  Still, the end result was worth it.

The seams are remarkably even despite my ugly sewing.  I had no idea they were planning to add just a tad more to the shirts…

Click to enlarge and get a close-up.  Apparently they got it screen printed with their names and team name.  It looks amazing!  (By the way, they got 3rd place…  Crazy.)

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hand-sewing

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    What a COOL, COOL, COOL story to have waiting to see the light of day while you’re out camping! You did a great job on the shirts, and congrats to your friends!!!

Leave a Reply

