FO: An Exercise in Cables

Happy Veteran’s Day!

Waay back in September, I was a little obsessed with the idea of crocheted cables when I came up with this baby.  I used the center cable from Sólás Caomh (Rav link) to create it.  Verdict?  I don’t like the holes that these crochet cables make, and I’ve had 3 people message me about them already.  Seems I’m not the only one who has issues with holes.  I thought I was the crazy one.

Also, crochet cables make for some really bulky fabric.  This was in fingering weight, and it felt like it was bulky yarn.  Pre-blocking, it really needed a bath to make it drape.  It was really stiff.

You can kind of see the holes here.  They’re much more gape-y in person.

Post bath, it’s much more drapey, though still quite bulky feeling.  It’ll probably get some use this winter; it’s FREEZING over here.  (Yes, that’s weird.  It’s California and I feel so cold…)

Double-wrapped and oh so warm.  I’m going to need it…

For more details on how I made it, check out my Rav page.  Sorry, you’ll have to be on Rav to view it, though.

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Crocheting, Finished Objects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FO: An Exercise in Cables

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    I agree with your assessment; cables leave unsightly holes, and they are so thick, but man are they beautiful if you look JUST at the cables! I like this think double-wrapped on you. That definitely will keep you warm!!!

Leave a Reply

