FO: Sunshine Socks

I learned a couple of things from these socks.
1) Knitting socks is kind of addicting.  (I maaaay have started another pair the same day I finished these.)
2) The standard toe does not work well with my left foot.  I need to experiment with different types of toes eventually, but for now, they’re okay.
3) Photographing socks is hard.
4) I want more hand-knitted socks.
5) I can make my own custom sock-blockers.
6) You don’t need pliers to bend wire coat-hangers.

An FYI: Yes, my feet are different lengths.  And the left toes don’t follow a standard shape.  =]

So… photographing these suckers.  Let me show you some photography fails.  (I didn’t touch up any of the fails, just so you know.)

This would have been okay if it wasn’t blurry.  That and the floor doesn’t give enough contrast.

Wayy too dark in the place I normally photograph.  Even after opening all the curtains for more light.

I moved so the light was at the front.  Um, fail.  I had a lot more fails, but in the interest of telling you how awesome these socks are and not how bad my photography is, we’ll move on.

I tried posing a little.  They’re pretty, right?

More posing.  These socks are nice and warm.  They took me 8 days from start to finish.  And I was completely obsessed with working on them.

More fail.  I really need to think about where the light is when I take these pictures.  I’m not used to moving around, so I forgot to take the lighting into consideration.

I’m really happy to have customized socks.  I can wear normal socks without a problem, but perfectly fitting socks?  I want more.

I bent up some wire hangers to make sock blockers.  I want to make more, just in case I make many many pairs of socks and wear them exclusively.  I just untwisted the hanger and hand bent it, approximating the curves to match the socks and twisted them back at the end.

So, yes, I am in love with hand-knit socks.  I want more!

Pattern: Sunshine (Rav link)
Yarn: Stroll Tonal in Golden Glow
Mods: Adjusted for length in left foot, I mirrored the beginning of the sock (though it ended the same way for both socks.)

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Finished Objects, Knitting, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FO: Sunshine Socks

  1. Nicki says:

    Silly…. little girl! 🙂
    I like the second picture a lot, even though it is kind of dark. >.>

Leave a Reply

