FO: Imogen Cowl

Finished in 4 days.  I can be a finishing machine when I feel like it.

It took me about 4 hours to graft this sucker together, and even then I made a mistake doing the graft.  On the plus side, it’s nearly impossible to tell where I started and ended.  On the down side, I was very close to giving up that night.  This would be the first time I’d ever felt like throwing my knitting across the room and really giving it a time-out.

I learned a ton about grafting and now I’m pretty much a pro at it.  Oh, the things I do because I’m a perfectionist!

I really really like this picture.  I don’t know why, but it just looks so cool.  So that’s the pre-blocking.  Here’s post-blocking:

The lace really opened up a lot.  I made this cowl shorter so it wouldn’t look so overwhelming on Danette if she chose to wear it like this.

It’s still long enough to double-wrap, though.

I really love this cowl.  Very simple, yet very elegant.  The color pulls it together nicely, too.   And she loves both of these cowls so much, she wore them both after I gave them to her.  I love it when people love my knitting!

Pattern: Imogen Cowl (Rav link)
Yarn: Simply Cotton Sport in Haze Heather
Needle: Size 5

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Finished Objects, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to FO: Imogen Cowl

  1. Ria says:

    Very pretty! I love that pattern.

  2. anastasiawraight says:

    That’s so pretty! I like the delicate color with that pattern. It makes for such a soft look.

  3. Heidi says:

    It’s simply stunning!! Off to check it out on Rav!

  4. Nicki says:

    🙂

  5. Deb L. says:

    Would you mind sharing how you ended up grafting this together? I’m just about to to graft, but with my working yarn in the back (when I put the right sides together), I don’t see how I can do a 3-needle bind off; for the kitchener stitch, the working yarn is also in the wrong spot. So close to being done, it’s frustrating to get stuck at the very end…

Leave a Reply

