Designing Měirényú – Part 1

Wow, looking back at my Rav notebook, I see that I started this project a year ago and I’m finally almost done with the pattern-writing.  Amazing how much time has flown and how things have changed in a year.

This design was inspired by the ocean and mermaids.  I really wanted a lace edging that reminded me of ocean waves, and the lace pattern reminded me of mermaid tails.  I had the trickiest time getting this started, placing the lace pattern properly within the triangle shaping, and getting the lace edge just so.

I started off with the idea of randomly placing beads throughout the pattern, but as I went along, I decided that it didn’t have the effect I was looking for.  If I were to go with this idea again, I’d have to choose a sparkly yarn, rather than randomly placing beads.

I didn’t want to frog all my work, so I did something a little crazy.

Yes, I crushed the beads.

I made sure to shake out all the glass bits, and there’s definitely nothing left in the shawl, but it was a bit of a traumatic experience, nonetheless!

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Designing, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Designing Měirényú – Part 1

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    Gulp… I liked the random beads, but that is a creative solution. This is one of my favorite colors, so I really love this piece.

Leave a Reply

