FO: Oven Mitts

When I give gifts, I would like for them to be used often.  Bought, handmade, it doesn’t matter.  Practical and beautiful gifts are the best.

We girls, Rebecca, Joyce (yes, I have a friend who is named Joyce, just like me), and I have been baking a lot.  I just have very little proof of it…  Haha.  I don’t know where the pictures have gone.

IMG_0871

I wasn’t really sure what to get Rebecca (honestly, the whole gift came together within a week, I had no clue what I was doing), but when I found a tutorial for making hot pads, I knew I had to make it for her.

IMG_0870

As you can see, the fabrics are the same one as the bag.  This one came first, then I decided to make the matching bag in the previous post.  My sewing is still very wonky; it was hard to sew the bias tape with that thickness, but at least it looks somewhat decent?

IMG_0872

So far, they seem to work pretty well.  If I were to make them again, I’d make a new pattern to cut from, since these ended up pretty small.  I also added the other pocket, since the original tutorial only called for making one pocket for the fingers.

Pattern: Hot Pads

About YuLianKnits

I have to say it: I LOVE GOD. I also enjoy creating things, whether it's through yarn or other crafty materials.
This entry was posted in Finished Objects, Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FO: Oven Mitts

  1. Snowcatcher says:

    Those turned out great. I like the colors and the double pockets. Plus the fact they are handmade and not the same thing in every kitchen across the country. I wouldn’t have known they were small if you hadn’t shared that. To me, they look like the right size.

Leave a Reply

